10 Underrated Halloween Songs

The ten underrated songs that are perfect for the Spooky Season.

Introduction

It’s spooky season and it is now Halloween. You have your Halloween decorations out, your costume picked out, and got your playlist ready for the holiday. On your Halloween playlist, the most common songs you most likely have on it are classics like This Is Halloween, The Monster Mash, Witch Doctor, etc. But what about Supernature, Horror Movie, Bottom Of The River, etc.?

These are just a few of the underrated songs that you can discover right here on this list! Here are ten of the most underrated Halloween songs from a wide range of genres. From Pop to Rock to Metal, I’ve got you covered! These songs do not only make on your Halloween playlist, but might also broaden your music taste.

For each entry, I will be going over the following things:

  • The Album Name and The Year It Came Out Including How Old It Would Be This Year in The Title and Genre
  • How I Discovered The Song
  • Other Recommendations From These Artists
  • Spotify Links To These Songs and Other Songs Mentioned
  • Amazon Links So You Can Buy The Album

Without further ado, let us dive into the ten underrated Halloween songs!


#10: Horror Movie By Skyhooks (1974-47 Years Old)- Rock Song

Number 10 On The List

Coming at number ten on the most underrated Halloween songs is also one of the oldest on this list. Horror Movie was released in 1974 by Australian band Skyhooks on the album Living In The 70s. This song in particular became popular in Australia and was featured on the Australian music show Countdown.

Horror Movie’s meaning is about how society is crumbling due to increasing turmoil, making reality feel like you are watching a Horror movie. Coming back to Countdown, I first heard this song on an album that celebrates Countdown’s 40th anniversary. Since then, this has become one of my favorite songs.

The video above is 2015 remaster of the song and is featured on Skyhooks greatest hits album Hits N Riffs. This is the perfect song to start off the list.


#9: Come A Little Closer By Johnny Hallow (2014- 7 Years Old)- Gothic/Ambience Music

The Gothic/Ambience genre of music, in general, is a must-listen genre for October. One of these Gothic/Ambience bands I recommend is Johnny Hollow, formed in 2003. This song is a track on their album A Collection of Monsters, their third studio album.

I discovered this band while browsing through Spotify. Other than this song, there are a few others you should check out. On the same album, you should also listen to Great White Shark. A few other songs that are on their other albums is their cover of People Are Strange, originally sung by The Doors in 1967. Also try Boogeyman and I, Goblin.

People Are Strange and Boogeyman are tracks from their album Dirty Hands while I, Goblin is the first single on The Old’s Gods Of New Berlin. I highly recommend this band for Halloween.


#8: Bottom Of The River by Delta Rae (2012- 9 Years Old)

Staying on the lines of Gothic music, you should also check out Southern Gothic. Much like other Gothic genres, Southern Gothic deals with macabre subjects with a Southern twist. A good band to listen to understand more of this genre is Delta Rae. Bottom Of The River is one of the tracks from their 2012 album Carry The Fire.

This song’s meaning deals with witchcraft. During the 17th or 18th century, individuals who were accused of witchcraft were executed by hanging, drowning, or burning at the stake. In the song, it tells the story of how the accused witch would want to drown rather than burn since it is the less painful way to die.

This is the first song that I listened to by Delta Rae and I loved them ever since. In fact, I have the Carry The Fire album. Other songs I suggest you should listen to by this band are Dancing In The Graveyards and Holding On To Good, songs that you can find on the same album.


#7: Creature Of The Night by Zombie Girl (2007- 14 Years Old)- EDM/Industrial

Next on my list is the only EDM or Industrial Pop song. Industrial pop is a sub-genre of pop music that incorporates gothic themes. Industrial pop is also one of my favorite genres of music. There are many singers/bands that are part of this genre, including Zombie Girl.

This album in particular has many songs to add to your Halloween list, but I personally would go with Creature Of The Night, the third track on the album Blood, Brains, and Rock & Roll. While this song is good, there are a few others I also suggest for your Halloween playlist.

The Darkness is another song that should be on every Halloween playlist. What I really like about that song is the siren sound effect that is used throughout the song. There is also Halloween ’09, which is a separate EP on the album of the same name. Check those songs out as well.


#6: Supernature by Sharon Needles (Or Any Sharon Needles Song) (2015- 6 Years Old)- Pop Music

If you are familiar with the show Rupaul’s Drag Race, then you know the fabulous drag queens. Sharon Needles is one of these drag queens and is one of my favorites. Most songs, if not all, have Horror/Halloween references in the lyrics. The albums I have of Sharon Needles are PG-13 and the one mentioned here, Taxidermy.

This song, Supernature, is a cover of Cerrone’s song, released in 1977. There are other amazing tracks on Taxidermy that I love that are also perfect for the spooky season. Dracula, Dead Dandelion, Taxidermy, Hollywoodn’t, Lucy, and Glow In The Dark are my most favored songs on the album.

As for PG-13, my most beloved songs from that album are This Club Is A Haunted House, Dead Girls Never Say No, I Wish I Was Amanda Lepore, Dressed To Kill, and of course the cover of Everyday Is Halloween, originally sung by Ministry in 1987.

Besides these two albums, there are other songs to listen to by Sharon Needles that you can hear on Spotify. Highway To Hell, originally sung by AC/DC in 1979, is a good cover and Andy Warhol Is Dead is another song that makes references to the artist and his artistic movement Pop Art.

All in all, you can’t go wrong with Sharon Needles and I find her to be an underrated drag queen.


#5: Bloodletting (The Vampire Song) by Concrete Blonde (1990-31 Years Old)- Alternate/Gothic Rock

The most popular creatures during Halloween or pop culture that you see are Frankenstein, Mummies, Werewolves, and Zombies. However, nothing tops the most popular folklore creature Vampires. Since Dracula by Bram Stoker, vampires have become a pop culture icon for different entertainment like TV, video games, and movies.

Bloodletting (The Vampire Song) by Concrete Blonde is one of the coolest Alternate/Gothic rock songs about this creature. I listened to Concrete Blonde since I was a child and this song was the one I listened to the most. On the other hand, there are a few other songs on the same album that you also consider listening to.

The two other songs I recommend are The Beast and Joey. The Beast is the seventh song on the album while Joey is the ninth track. Those are two other songs that I believe you would enjoy as well.


#4: Would You Love A Monsterman? by Lordi (2002)-19 Years Old- Metal/Heavy Metal

The first metal song on this list goes to one of my favorite Finnish metal bands Lordi. Formed in 1992, the band is mostly recognized for their monstrous costumes. This song, Would You Love A Monsterman?, comes from their album Get Heavy. This song is the first song I heard by this band.

After listening to this song, I’ve heard other songs by this band and explored more Finnish Metal bands. I also have this album. Besides Would You Love A Monsterman?, here are a few other songs I recommend to listen to if you love metal.

From Get Heavy, you should check out Get Heavy, Devil Is A Loser, Rock The Hell Out Of You, Icon Of Dominance (my second favorite Lordi song), and Monster, Monster. Another song by this band is from the album Zombilation, a comp. of Lordi’s songs released in 2009 is To Hell With The Pop.

If you love metal and want fresh music for your playlist, then you should check out Lordi!


#3: We Drink Your Blood by Powerwolf (2011)- 10 Years Old- Metal

Backtracking back to vampires, We Drink Your Blood is a 2011 song released by German heavy metal band Powerwolf. Much like Lordi, this is the first song I heard from this band. Most of Powerwolfs songs incorporate lyrics that associate with Christianity, werewolves, and vampires.

We Drink Your Blood is featured on their fourth album Blood Of The Saints. Outside of the US, Germany has the best metal music/bands in my opinion. Powerwolf is proof of that. This is one of the best songs they did, but there are two other ones that I love as well. Blood Of The Saints has another song that I really enjoy titled Murder At Midnight. The other song is on their 2018 album The Sacrament Of Sin. The song is the first one on the album titled Demons Are A Girl’s Best Friends.

These three songs are my favorites from this band.


#2: Last Halloween by Jyrki 69 (2017)- 4 Years Old-Gothic Rock


This list would not be complete with a song with Halloween in the title. There are two songs that have this haunting holiday in the title, but I decided to stick with this song. Last Halloween is a gothic rock song performed by Jyrki 69. Jyrki Linnankivi, the vocalist for this song, is also the lead singer of the Finnish rock band The 69 Eyes.

I also highly suggest for people to listen to The 69 Eyes as well. Several songs I suggest you listen to are Lost Boys, Feel Berlin, Never Say Die, Devils, From Dusk and Dawn, and The Chair. As for albums, I have one record from this band titled West End, released in 2019. My personal favorites from the album are Two Horns Up, 27 & Done, Burn Witch Burn, Cheyenna, and The Last House On The Left.

This song, Last Halloween, makes references to popular Horror movies like Halloween, Friday The 13th, and Nightmare On Elm Street. It was also featured in the low-budget Horror movie Halloween Pussy Trap Kill! Kill! I highly recommend adding this song to your Halloween playlist and of course, you should check out The 69 Eyes.


#1: Dead Man’s Party by Oingo Boingo- 1985 (36 Years Old)


The last song on my underrated Halloween song list is a dance anthem released in the 80s. Dead Man’s Party is a song performed by the band Oingo Boingo. The lead singer, Danny Elfman, has done many scores for a variety of films. The films he has done scores on include, but are not limited to, The Nightmare Before Christmas, Charlie and The Chocolate Factory, Spider-man, Men In Black, the theme song for The Simpsons, and many more.

Other than the film scores, Danny Elfman’s band Oingo Boingo is underrated. Dead Man’s Party is one of the most popular songs by the band. I put this at number one because I believe it is the perfect Halloween song for your party. After you listen to Dead Man’s Party, you should also listen to Weird Science as that is another popular Oingo Boingo song.

That is all of the Halloween songs I highly recommend.

Conclusion

These are the top ten underrated Halloween songs I suggest for everyone to listen to. I tried to add a little variety to the songs since people have different tastes in music. Of course, there are plenty of other Halloween songs that I didn’t include in this list, so if you need more spooky songs, look elsewhere online.

All ten of these songs/artists are ones that I love and listen to. If you want to heart these songs on Spotify or want to buy the albums these songs are on, I will add the Spotify songs and the album links. I will also include other songs that were mentioned in this article as well.

Thanks for reading and I hope I added new songs to your list or introduced you to new music/bands!


These are the Spotify links for the top ten songs in this list plus other songs from these artists that I recommended throughout the article. These are just samples of the songs. If you want to listen to the entire song, you should listen on Spotify. Hit the play button the sample and a prompt will come up where you can listen on Spotify.

Underrated Halloween Songs











Other Songs Mentioned

Johnny Hollow


Delta Rae:

Zombie Girl:



Sharon Needles


From The Album Taxidermy:

From PG-13 Album

From Battle Axe:

From Spoopy Album

Concrete Blonde

From The Bloodletting Album

Lordi

From The Get Heavy Album

Powerwolf:

From Blood Of The Saints:

From The Album The Sacrament Of Sin

The 69 Eyes

From The Devils Album

From The Angels Album:

From Blessed Be

From The West End Album:


If you are interested in buying these albums, I will provide the Amazon links to them. This will only be for the top ten Halloween songs. Please show support to the artist by buying their albums.

Skyhooks



Johnny Hollow


Delta Rae



Zombie Girl




Sharon Needles



Concrete Blonde



Lordi



Powerwolf



Jyrki 69



Oingo Boingo

Published by AliciaBarton2021

Welcome to my blog! Let me start by introducing myself. My name is Alicia Barton and I work as a freelance writer. I love writing and it is one of my passions. I promise that I will give my audience the following benefits with each post: - Honest Reviews - Inspiring or encouraging posts - Overall quality content You also will see books that I will be selling and short stories that I wrote. I hope you enjoy my blog and my posts and as always, I would love feedback from my audience.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started